top of page

Quality over Quantity


The All Sides: Met way back in college 1999

It's been a little over 2 years since I moved from MNL to LA. And it was just recently that I started missing being in the Philippines..

Charm: Met her when we were in preschool - like 1988, I think!

I have always been so passionate about friendships. I have had my heart broken twice because of friendships that ended. When I consider someone a friend, I see them as family. I defend them, and I make it sure that I can be there for them not only when they need me.

Vero: my sister from another mother and my bestfriend/MOH. Met her 2003

I would say I am a very friendly person. I don't shy away in a crowd so I can easily get acquainted with people. But lately, I started missing my friends in MNL. The friends that I have had history with. The friends that I can share old stories with that we can laugh about or reminisce together and realize how time has made us matured and "better looking" (well at least for me). The friends that I would say we'll meet over lunch but end up seeing them for a late lunch, just because that's really how we are.

Sarah: My bru. and my beks! Met her 2005 in my first IT job.

Nikki and Joy: THESE GIRLS! OMG! Met them at HP 2008.

I miss having my own friends. I miss texting them about meet ups. I miss bugging them for times that I need someone to talk to. I miss the comfort and familiarity. I miss the time spent with them and the time where we just call each other conveniently for a spontaneous gathering.

LG: College friend and also almost kapitbahay because we live in the same city!

Met her 2004, i think!

Joie: My tsong! We were college batchmates and met through our geeky university student council. haha! Met her in 2004 too!

I guess what I am trying to say is that real friendships are built over time, and are not broken by a simple argument or drama. Real friendships stay. They are part of you.

I am glad that I have built a few friendships here in LA that have made me feel close to MNL. I am so happy that technology have made it easy for me to communicate with my friends in MNL and bug them, or share something out of the blue with them.

And I know, these few friendships that I've had will eventually grow into something more. :)

My jologs friends: Yes, jologs! (not complete) They kept me sane during the wedding planning and during our big day itself. Friends i met through Veronica..


LA meets Manila

JR and Jan Obciana

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page