top of page

From Bump to Birth.. My Birthing Story

Before I start the actual story, here's a documentary of my baby bump :)

Prologue: January 19, 2016

I had separate conversations with my mom and mom in law about as to when Justyne will make her debut into this world. I both told them that I think I would exceed the 40 weeks and will be induced. I seriously didn't think that our baby girl will come sooner than expected. :)

January 20, 2016, Wednesday 5am

I woke up to use the restroom to pee. As soon as the last drop of pee for that morning reached the toilet bowl, I felt like I needed to go number 2. Sat on the bowl for a good 2 minutes and nothing came out. So sleepily, I went back to bed, still with the feeling that I need to go number 2. Didn't get to go back to sleep anymore as I felt like I am to start labor..

After a good 15 minute staring into the ceiling, my water broke. I knew then that I needed to give my husband a slight nudge as I don't want him to panic. hehe. Good thing our things have been packed and I only needed to grab a few things from the closet.

6am:

We are already checked in at Glendale Adventist Medical Center. They have also confirmed that yes, I am on labor already.. When they checked how dilated I was, it was already at 2cm.. it was then that they started connecting monitors to me: one in my belly to monitor Justyne's heartbeat and another one down there to monitor contractions. Of course, not to mention the IV, where I was poked 4 times as I have tiny veins..

Waiting for the nurses and their instructions on what will happen next.. At this time, they have confirmed already that I am in labor..

Still relaxed (and very excited) as they haven't poked me yet here..

8am:

We were then transferred to the labor room. I must say, it was one of the things I loved about GAMC. The labor room was pretty spacious and JR also has his own bed, well a couch that you can convert to a bed :)

Praying..

At this time, we are just waiting for the administration of epidural. I would be holding JR's hand for every contraction that I feel. By this time, I think I am at 4cm dilated..

10am:

It was almost 10am when epidural was given to me. Thank God for this invention! :) As soon as it was on "full blast" I was able to rest and have some naps..

Finally on epidural. I think people hyped it that they said it will be painful while they are inserting the syringe or whatever that is called! It wasn't! Considering I have very low tolerance for pain, it was all good for me!

5pm:

This was the time I heard Nurse Breanne say "Ok, it's to push". I am already fully dilated and numb and it's time for work.. Prior to the actual pushing, Nurse Breanne taught me how to push. JR and I didn't attend any birthing class, so we were both new to this! Since I have the IUPC (Intrauterine Pressure Catheter Placement) inserted down there, we are able to know when I will have contractions, even if I don't feel any pain.

5:44pm

A little before this time, my OB Dr. John Artenos said the words "Okay, one last push!" and I gave it all! Next thing I know, I heard our baby girl crying. I was teary eyed and I my first thought was "Hey that wasn't bad at all, I am okay having 2 more babies then!"

The next few hours were just filled with extreme joy.. No matter how tired I was, or how painful it was to move for me, everytime I see our little girl, it really takes away all the worries, anxiety, pain and tiredness! I still couldn't believe I let out a beautiful baby girl! I am in awe!

LA meets Manila

JR and Jan Obciana

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page