top of page

Thank You, Ma..


I will never look at my mom the same way ever again.. And I meant that in a very good way. Before I create a blog entry about my birthing story of our little one, I would first like to honor the person who is one of the most influential person in my life, my first ever best friend, my beloved mother..

A few days ago, I delivered our first baby (yes, first coz there'll be more lol). I was praying for a normal delivery, which was something God granted me with. Based on what I have read and what experienced people have shared with me, normal/vaginal delivery is way better than having a C-Section delivery mainly because recovery is easier.

By "easier" it meant not having to worry about stitches in your belly and being able to move more freely - these at least are just what I know of.

So postpartum comes and epidural has finally worn off. I had a 4th degree laceration, which is no joke. This means that I have some stitches down there because my doctor decided to cut the whatever-you-call-that-i-dont-know-the-medical-term-for-it near my butt to make our baby's entrance in the world be better. Of course I didn't feel any pain at all as I was on epidural (Thank God for this invention!!).

We spent about 2 nights in the hospital and I felt that I was doing pretty good, recovery wise.. When we finally went home, it was when my body broke down. Good thing family was here and I was, for the first time, after delivery, had my uninterrupted 3 hour sleep.

Fast forward to 2 days after, I knew I had infection down there and went to see my doctor. He then gave me antibiotics and also gave me "pep talk" about bowel movement. So the day after, I mustered up the courage and called out all the gods while having that momentous time of my life! It was indeed a b*tch as how my doctor said. He wasn't kidding!!

Funny as it may seem, it was also a moment when I realized how much pain my mom went through giving birth to me and my 3 sisters. Not to mention, epidural wasn't a thing then.

People say (well, mostly Filipinos say this), that once you have given birth to a child, you have already paid your mom's giving birth to you. It may be true, but for me, what my mom did isn't something that can easily be replaced.. It was a selfless act, binded by love and care. So Ma, thank you and I love you!


LA meets Manila

JR and Jan Obciana

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page